1998 ALCAN 5000 RALLY: Aug 29 - Sept 6

Seattle, Hyder, Skagway, Dawson City, Dawson Creek, Jasper

The view from Midnight Dome, Dawson City

"Celebrating the Klondike Centennial"

This 1998 event will focus on the Klondike Gold Rush centennial, and allow much more time than previous Alcans to find and visit special attractions in the northland. Other news is a new "Klondike Class" intended for those who are more interested in touring adventure than the Alcan's TSD competition.   While these teams will follow the same itinerary, scoring will be based on collecting team photos and/or GPS coordinates at predetermined points along the route.  Successful teams will receive the Alcan's "Klondike Cup" award.

ROUTE:  The 1998 Alcan will start near Seattle and finish 4,100 miles later in Jasper, Alberta.   The route will include Hyder, Prionde Rupert, Skagway, Dawson City and the inside passage, plus many of North America's most scenic and remote roads such as the Alaska, Campbell, Klondike, Dalton, and Bighorn highways. The 1998 route will highlight the Alaska coast and the Gold Rush Trail, and for the first time will not include any all-night drives.

CONCEPT:  The Alcan 5000 was conceived as a new event based on the old concept of rallying as a grand tour, motoring adventure, and gentleman’s sport.  Original examples were long distance events such as the Thousand Miles Trail (1900), Monte Carlo (1911), Tulip, RAC (1932), Mille Miglia (1911), and Circuit of Ireland.  The 1984 Alcan 5000 Rally had 23 starting cars, 22 at the finish 4,700 miles later, and was at that time the longest rally ever conducted in North America.  Looking for new challenges, organizers began alternating with a winter Alcan in 1988.  The 1990 Alcan became "the world's longest, coldest winter rally" at -58 F and 6,275 miles.

VISION:   A competitition that rewards experience, good judgement, consistency, reliability and rescourcefulness. A "level playing field" that lets private and factory teams compete on even terms.

ENTRANTS:  Have included factory teams from Audi, Chrysler, Ford, Isuzu, Mazda, Oldsmobile, and Subaru in the past.  For 1998, teams from Cadillac, Isuzu, and Subaru are expected.  Novice rallyists are also common on the Alcan, the more important requirement is common sense and driving experience.

ENTRY FEE: $2350 for a team, including ferry transport and 9 nights accomodations for two people. Third driver $450.


1984 Tim Paterson/Douglas Paterson                      Mazda RX7
1985 John Buffum/Tom Grimshaw/Paul Choiniere            Audi 5000 CS Quattro
1986 Gene Henderson/Mike VanLoo                         Subaru RX 4x4
1987 Ken Maytag/Glen Bjorkman/Steve Richards            Audi 5000 CS Quattro
1988 Ken Maytag/Glen Bjorkman/Steve Richards            Audi 5000 CS Quattro
1989 Tim Paterson/Penny Thomas                          Porsche 911
1990 Gene Henderson/Ralph Beckman                       Subaru Legacy Wagon
1991 Ken Knight/Bob Dart                                Subaru SVX
1992 Ken Knight/Greg Lester                             Subaru Legacy Touring Wagon
1993 Russ Kraushaar/Satch Carlson                       BMW 2002ti
1994 Paul Dallenbach/Johnny Unser/Tom Grimshaw          Isuzu Rodeo
1996 Paul Dallenbach/Johnny Unser/Tom Grimshaw          Isuzu Rodeo
ORGANIZERS: Rainier Auto Sports Club, Inc.  A non-profit group of auto enthusiasts active since 1965.  Their oldest regular event is the Nor’wester Auto Rally, begun in 1967.  Alcan chairman Jerry Hines has rallied since 1965 (in six countries), and been a key organizer for over 30 national and international rallies.

Jerry Hines                     |       jhines@eskimo.com
Alcan 5000 Rally                |       www.eskimo.com/~jhines/ 
13 Central Way #300             |       (425)823-6343 
Kirkland, Washington 98033      |       (425)823-6307 Fax
NOTE: These pages optimized for Netscape. For best results, set your fonts preference to 10 or 11. 


1998 rules & regulations

1998 entries:

1998 product sponsors: